Peirce and Jackson sworn in as SEC commissioners

The appointments bring the five-person panel to full capacity.

Two commissioners have been appointed to the Securities and Exchange Commission, bringing the five-person bench to full capacity for the first time since 2015.

Hester Peirce

Hester Peirce and Robert Jackson were sworn into office on Tuesday by the head of the regulator, Jay Clayton.

Peirce, who has previously held roles at the SEC, joins from the Mercatus Center at George Washington University, where she was a senior research fellow and director of the financial markets working group.

She is a staunch critic of the Dodd-Frank Act and the Volcker Rule, which drives banks to make secondaries sales, and said the latter had taken up too much regulatory attention and resources that could have been spent on pressing issues like cybersecurity. Her earlier nomination, during the Obama administration, was rejected by Democrats who objected to her views on regulation.

Robert Jackson

Jackson joins the bench from the NYU School of Law where he was a professor of law. He has served as a Treasury Department advisor.

The pair join commissioners Kara Stein and Michael Piwowar, and will be responsible for rulemaking which has been on hold as a result of the reduced numbers on the bench.